Public Key Infrastructure

Digital Key Management

Digital Certificates

TLS/SSL Certificates

Certificate Management

Certificate Authority

Certificate Scanning

Encryption Standards, Regulations, and Algorithms

Certificate Request

Chain of Trust

Certificate Provisioning

Certificate Renewal and Revocation

Crypto Agility

Buying a Certificate from CA

PKI for IoT

FIPS (Federal Information Processing Standards) are publicly announced standards developed by the United States Federal Government for use in computer systems by non-military government agencies and government contractors.* They’ve been developed to ensure computer security and interoperability.

The 140 series of FIPS are the standards that deal with computer cryptographic modules, which involves both hardware and software components used by the departments and agencies of the United States Federal Government. FIPS 140-2 is the standard that’s currently in use. FIPS 140-2 has levels 1 through 4, with each level being more stringent than the previous one. FIPS 140-2 provides regulations for physical tamper-resistance, role-based authentication, and physical and logical separation of interfaces through which “critical security parameters” pass.

Share Us
Related Articles:   What is SHA, and what are SHA-1 and SHA-2?